Aramco makes board appointments, names first ever woman

Khalid Al Falih, chairman of the board of directors of Saudi Aramco and Saudi Arabia’s Minister of Energy, Industry and Mineral Resources, has announced the appointment of five new members to the Saudi Aramco board.

Andrew Liveris, the outgoing chairman and CEO of the Dow Chemical Company and director of DowDuPont will join the board on July 1 when he retires from the US chemicals producer.

Meanwhile, Mohammed Al Jadaan, the kingdom’s Minister of Finance and Mohammed Al Tuwaijri, the Minister of Economy and Planning, also join the board of directors. Peter Cella, former Chevron Philips Chemical Company president and CEO for six years from 2011 until 2017 is also named.

Lynn Laverty Elsenhans, former chairwoman, president and CEO at Sunoco Incorporated, which she left in 2012, becomes the first ever woman to join the oil giant’s board.

Elsenhans is an industry veteran having also worked for the Royal Dutch Shell Group for 28 years and is presently on the board of GlaxoSmithKline. Forbes listed her in their top ten of the most powerful women in 2009.

The three outgoing members include Dr Majid Al Moneef, advisor to the Royal Court. Saudi Aramco’s board now comprises 11 members including president and CEO Amin Nasser.